Creating a gradient opacity mask in Illustrator

by

Illustrator has great control over gradients and blends but if you want to fade the gradient from color to transparency you have to use Opacity Mask.

The use of opacity masks in Illustrator is not as straightforward as in Photoshop but is just as powerful once you get to know how to use them.

Here is something to get you started.

 

THE PROCESS

Select the object you want to make transparent. Create a rectangle and fill it with black and white gradient. 

(The gradient you use as a mask doesn´t have to be black and white, you can use any color you like).

Make sure the gradient is in front of the object you are working on. And Select both objects.

gm_03 

Now open the Transparency panel and choose “Make Opacity Mask”

make_opacity_mask

The lighter color of the gradient makes the object transparent and dark makes it opaque.

gm_04If you click on the gradient icon in the Transparency panel, you can play around with the gradient on the artboard, changing the direction and position of the gradient.

gradient_mask_edit

Clicking back on the object icon takes you back to the object where you can change it´s color and apply effects.

You can even fill it with a gradient.

 

gm_06This technique is very useful when you are creating Highlights or shadows.

examples21

examples

 

30 Responses to “Creating a gradient opacity mask in Illustrator”

  1. tzimi Says:

    thanks so much,

  2. Matthew Says:

    I tried a different way – your way made more sense and and is very “do-able” thank you

    Matthew

  3. Izickiel Says:

    wicked mon. bill up a fat one and celebrate your wickedness

  4. StasS Says:

    I am having a small problem with this -
    Because my background is black, it creates a certain ‘fade to white’.
    IMHO it only makes the perfect white transparent, and the grey’s become only half transparent.
    Have you stumbled upon this problem?

  5. Chad Bruce Says:

    This was exactly the solution I was seeking! The Illustrator CS3 book I was using mentioned nothing of the “Make Opacity Mask” option tucked away in the drop-down menu of the transparency panel.

  6. A town with a lighthouse, from an isomorphic perspective Says:

    [...] nighttime colors. The nighttime maps also gave me a great opportunity to practice using opacity masks in Illustrator, which is the method on how I made the light from the lamps and the lighthouse. [...]

  7. Eswar Says:

    Thanks for your tips.. so useful… and now I know how to add transparent gradient.. thanks again exprm..

  8. designer silver jewellery Says:

    Pleasant posting but I am not sure that I agree.
    Then again, people consider me challenging at the best of times!
    Thanks a lot.

  9. Karen Says:

    Thank you! This was so helpful!

  10. auto insurance companies list Says:

    Hello! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with
    hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing several weeks of hard work due to no back up.

    Do you have any solutions to protect against hackers?

  11. resources Says:

    Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering
    if you get a lot of spam feedback? If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or
    anything you can recommend? I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any support is very much appreciated.

  12. Edmundo Says:

    Today, I went to the beach front with my kids.

    I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her
    ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had
    to tell someone!

  13. Discover More Says:

    Fantastic blog you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any community forums that
    cover the same topics discussed here? I’d really like to be a part of online community where I can get responses from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Bless you!

  14. cheap auto insurance in virginia Says:

    Your web site seems to be having some compatibilty problems in my opera browser.
    The text appears to be running off the webpage pretty bad.

    If you would like you can e-mail me at: celindasanchez@googlemail.
    com and I will shoot you over a screen grab of the problem.

  15. affordable seo firm Says:

    Hi! I’m about to begin my own blog and was wondering if you know where the best place to acquire a website url is? I am not even sure if that’s what its known as?

    (I’m new to this) I’m referring to “http://gogogic.wordpress.com/2009/02/03/creating-a-gradient-opacity-mask-in-illustrator/”.
    Exactly how do I go about obtaining one of these for the website I’m making? Cheers

  16. miguel319.lovelyish.com Says:

    Wow that was strange. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked
    submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that
    over again. Regardless, just wanted to say fantastic
    blog!

  17. Quinton Wilkerson Says:

    The portion of the faded image (text in this case) that should be faded out is still visible…why? I followed the instructions to the letter.

  18. Gunni Says:

    Try clicking the “Invert Mask” in the Transparency window

  19. cuejay Says:

    Tried invert already… Didn’t work. Thanks for the reply though!
    Sent from my iPhone

  20. Alcohol Says:

    Magnificent items from you, man. I have take into account
    your stuff prior to and you’re just too great. I really like what you’ve got here,
    certainly like what you’re saying and the way by which you assert it. You make it enjoyable and you continue to take care of to stay it sensible. I cant wait to learn much more from you. This is really a terrific web site.

  21. link building basics Says:

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this outstanding blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding
    your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about
    this website with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  22. complete link building package Says:

    Howdy! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering
    if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  23. graphic designer Says:

    Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you penning this article and also the rest of the website is very good.

  24. shoutcast server Says:

    These are in fact impressive ideas in regarding blogging.
    You have touched some fastidious points here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  25. Brian Says:

    Great resource, so simple.

  26. bevouliin Says:

    Hello, Great Post! I was a corel draw user, and now already moved to adobe illustrator, but I am still learning. This guide help me to understand more about Transparency in adobe illustrator. Thank you very much :)

  27. How to Do a Gradient With Opacity in Illustrator | Technology - Popular Question & Answer Says:

    […] Helpful Resources Creating a gradient opacity mask in Illustrator | All Things Gogogic […]

  28. how to erase background image using coreldraw Says:

    It’s fantastic that you are getting ideas from
    this article as well as from our discussion made at this place.

  29. emilyrosestudios Says:

    OMG I had been trying to make transparent gradients with something I found online that uses the “blend” option but didn’t work very well… this is EXACTLY what I needed for a project! THANK YOU!!!!

  30. Hec Archundia* (@hecodrummer) Says:

    Thank you. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

